Sridevi, Irrfan Khan, Anupam Kher among top winners in IIFA 2018

IIFA 2018 saw a glittering ceremony spruce up a starry Sunday.

Bangkok had its dose of entertainment served right as the Bollywood bevy lit up the Siam Niramit theater here, courtesy the 19th International Indian Film Academy awards.

Hosted by ace film maker Karan Johar and actor Riteish Deshmukh, IIFA 2018 was spectacular, and also somewhat iconic.

Image result for iifa 2018 winners

Evergreen Bollywood diva Rekha mesmerised the audience with her graceful moves after a span of almost two decades, as she swayed to immortal numbers like Salaam e Ishq and Inn Aankhon ki Masti mein to captivate senses, and very deservedly got a standing ovation from her doyens of admirers.

The high point of the evening witnessed an emotional breakdown when veteran Bollywood producer Bonney Kapoor could not hold back his tears as he received the award for best actress that his wife, Mom actress Sridevi was posthumously honored with. Nawazuddin Siddiqui also took home the award for best supporting actor for the same movie.

Boney Kapoor gets emotional as he accepts best actor

In a somewhat similar vein, ailing Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan also won the award for Best Actor for his performance in Hindi Medium, which was accepted by his Haider costar Shraddha Kapoor.

It turned out to be a double delight for Hindi medium, with Saket Chaudhary also bagging the Best Director’s award for the film.

Image result for iifa 2018 WINNERS

The Vidya Balan starrer Tumhari Sulu got the award for Best Picture for its unconventional depiction of a middle class housewife who established herself as a radio jockey.

Special mention may be made of Anupam Kher, who won the Lifetime Achievment Award from good friend Anil Kapoor, who also shared an anecdote on the occasion.

Meher Vij  won the best actor in a supporting role female, for Secret Superstar. The movie also claimed the award for Meghna Mishra as the Best Female Playback Singer for the song Main Kaun Hoon.

Arijit Singh took home the award for Best Playback Singer (Male), courtesy the soothing song Hawayein from Jab We Met.

Image result for iifa 2018 winners arijit singh

Best Story was by Amit V Masurkar (Newton), while Best Debut Director went to Konkona Sen Sharma for A death in the Gunj.

Best Music Direction award went to Amaal Mallik, Tanishk Bagchi & Akhil Sachdeva (Badrinath Ki Dulhania)

The catchy beat Mere Rashke Qamar from Baadshaho  won Manoj Muntashir for Best Lyrics.

New gen Bollywood beauty Kriti Sanon was adjudged the Style Icon, while Arjun Kapoor was the next IIFA giveway winner.

Image result for iifa 2018 winners

Overall, it was a grand spectacle that dominated the proceeding at Indian cinema’s most celebrated award function on 24th June. Actors Ranbir Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor, Anil Kapoor, Varun Dhawan, Bobby Deol also set the audience grooving with trademark Bollywood numbers that set the tone for the star- studded celebrations.