Hima Das honoured with Arjuna Award


Indian President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the country’s top sports awards on a host of sports persons on Tuesday.

Ace sprinter Hima Das bagged the Arjuna Award for 2018, after a stupendous run at recent international events. Clinching the gold medal at the IAAF World U20 Championships, Hima became the first woman sprinter from the nation to set the record while also displaying her class with a trio of medals at the recently concluded Asian Games in Jakarta.

Hima Das Arjuna Award
Source: Ashoka News

Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli bagged the top accolades as he became only the third cricketer in the country to receive the coveted Arjuna Award after occupying top spot in the list of best Test batsmen for three consecutive years.

Alongside Kohli, world champion weightlifter Saikhom Mirabai Chanu also was awarded with the top honours by President Kovind. Rounding up a spectacular year during which she had also been awarded the Padma Shri, Chanu walked away with a prize money of 7.5 lakhs along with a citation.

Khel Ratna Awards 2018
Source: The Quint

Altogether 20 sports persons were awarded the Arjuna awards, while the Dronacharya award have been conferred on eight eminent coaches. The Dhyan Chand Award for life time sporting achievement has been conferred on four former sports persons.

Source: Sehpaathi.in

The sports awards conferration is an annual event that is held during the National Sports Day celebration on August 29 every year. However, this year’s awards ceremony were scheduled for a later date in view of the Asian Games that concluded on September 2.

Check out the full list of awardees here.