Time to celebrate Sunil Chhetri, the active scorer makes us proud

sunil chhetri

It is time to celebrate the birthday of India’s renowned football legend, Sunil Chhetri who stood as a milestone achieving his dreams and making India proud. His fans from all over India wishes him best on his birthday recognising his rise and glory in international football.

Recently, reviewing the Indian Football scenario, Indian Cricket team captain Virat Kohli told FIFA.com, “Honestly, not far off” while answering the question how far off India were from sealing a maiden World Cup qualification.

The cricketer also opined about the development of Indian football saying, “We have improved drastically in our football over the last three-four years. With new talent coming in to make the difference, and our skipper Sunil Chhetri leading the team with amazing composure and inspiration, I see us qualifying very soon for the World Cup.”

Further, appreciating Chhetri’s groundbreaking international achievement and dedication towards the Indian football team being a captain Kohli clearly emphasised, “If anyone deserves it, it’s him. And the team should rally behind that motivation and qualify, and dedicate it to him. He’s an absolute champion and an inspirational human being.”

Here’s what you need to know about Sunil Chhetri:

Chhetri’s professional journey began from Mohun Bagan of the National Football League and the journey continues. He made his international debut on 14 April 2010 for the Wizards in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup qualification play-in game against the Colorado Rapids.

He is the captain of the Indian football team in the present time. Also, is the most capped player in the country with 109 matches.

He is the second-highest active international goal scorer with 71 just behind the international star player Christiano Ronaldo.

He has scored about 202 goals in 367 matches combining club and country.

The Arjuna (2011) and Padma Shri (2019) winner footballer has won AIFF Player of the Year award in 2007, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017 2018-19.